Celebrations for new Trade Training Centre at Mirrabooka

Senator Louise Pratt, Senator for Western Australia, today officially opened the new Mirrabooka Hospitality Trade Training Centre at Mirrabooka Senior High School.

Senator Pratt said the Trade Training Centre received $3.5 million from the Gillard Government as part of the Trade Training Centres in Schools program.

“It’s great to be here today to celebrate the opening of this Trade Training Centre which is already having a hugely positive impact on this school, its students and the broader community,” Senator Pratt said.

“I congratulate all of those involved in making this project a success and applaud your commitment to improving the opportunities and training pathways for the young people of this region.”

“It has been fantastic to see local input from principals, parents and tradespeople in delivering this important community project.”

“This trade training includes a hospitality facility, the refurbishment of an existing commercial kitchen and new equipment and will provide industry relevant qualifications in hospitality that will best prepare our students for the highly skilled workforce of tomorrow,” Senator Pratt said.

The Program is one of a number of Gillard Government initiatives designed to improve the quality of schooling nationwide and build a highly qualified, well trained Australian workforce.

Trade Training Centres are being established to help increase the proportion of students achieving Year 12 or an equivalent qualification and help address skill shortages in traditional trades and emerging industries.

To date the program has approved $1.2 billion to fund more than 370 projects, benefitting over 1070 schools around Australia.

On 25 October 2012 the Minister for School Education, Early Childhood and Youth, the Hon Peter Garrett AM MP, announced that a further $400 million is available for Round Five, the first phase of which opens on 30 November 2012.

Further information about the Mirrabooka Senior Trade Training Centre and all schools funded under the Program is available at www.tradetrainingcentres.deewr.gov.au.

Media Contact: Senator Pratt’s office 9225 4411